Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly Election: What You Should Know

Nov 17, 2023

The pivotal second phase of Chhattisgarh's Legislative Assembly Election unfolds today, featuring a tight contest between the incumbent Congress and the BJP, along with the AAP and BSP. With a substantial voter base of 19.7 million, including diverse demographics, the election's outcome will significantly impact the state's political landscape. This is all you need to know.

The culmination of the Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly Election's second phase, set to unfold today, is pivotal to key political figures, including Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel, Deputy Chief Minister TS Singh Deo, eight state ministers, and four Members of Parliament. The initial phase, on November 7, witnessed an impressive 78% voter turnout for the 20 seats in this Naxal-affected state, setting the stage for a closely contested battle between the incumbent Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), alongside entrants like the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP).

Chhattisgarh boasts a substantial voter base of 19.7 million, comprising 9.85 million women, 9.82 million men, and 762 transgender individuals. Noteworthy demographics include 443,000 first-time voters, 2,948 centenarians, 147,000 persons with disabilities, 202,000 individuals above 80, and 19,854 service voters from the armed forces. The state accommodates 24,109 polling booths, with 900 managed by women staff and security personnel, termed "sangwari" booths, and an additional 90 booths operated by persons with disabilities. Below, we break down party-wise candidate age ranges and key stats on registered voters, first-time voters, and the median age.